Linda Goldman, RD

Special K Brand Service Steward, Consumer Affairs

"Eat well, be well."

What is your educational background? I received my Bachelor’s degree in Foods and Nutrition, Miami University, Oxford, Ohio and did my dietetic internship in the Air Force in Washington, DC.

What is your favorite part of your job? I love the atmosphere at Kelloggs- the attitude and work ethic of the Kellogg family is outstanding. I also enjoy the variety. I work in Consumer Affairs, which involves a number of responsibilities, one of which is providing answers to the many nutrition questions our consumers send our way. The job also involves coordinating with a variety of teams in research, innovation and marketing to bring the voice of the consumer to them to help product development to create products that will delight our consumers.

What other nutrition-related jobs have you held? Following my internship I was assigned to Mather Air Force Base, Sacramento, CA as Chief, Nutritional Medicine Service. This was a one dietitian facility and I was responsible for inpatient clinical needs, outpatient education, and hospital food service for patients and staff (these were the days before food service was contracted out!). It was a stretching job, but was a wonderful position with a lot of variety and opportunities. After five years I was assigned back to Washington, DC as an instructor for the Air Force Dietetic Internship, with concentration on the food science and food service management portions of the program. After leaving the Air Force I did some consulting with a Diabetes Education group and with Volunteers of America, reviewing their food service operation and menus.

What do you consider an ideal breakfast? I love cereal, so a breakfast of cereal, milk and fruit is my favorite. For years I ate Kellogg's Raisin Bran® every day (yes- even before I worked for Kelloggs!) Right now my favorite is Special K® Protein Cereal with orange juice.

What do you like to do when you are not at work? Biking, tennis, reading, photo and video editing, and spending time with my four kids when they are home (all out of college now).